TXST volleyball

The Texas State volleyball program captured a conference title in 2018 to provide crucial points in the Vic Bubas Cup standings. Photo by TXST Athletics


POINT CLEAR, Ala. — Texas State Athletics claimed its first Sun Belt Conference All-Sports Trophy, the Vic Bubas Cup, after winning five conference championships in 2018-19.  The award was presented to Texas State representatives at the opening of the Sun Belt Conference spring meetings.

Last fall, the Bobcats won the Sun Belt regular season championships in women’s soccer and volleyball. The volleyball team also won the Sun Belt Tournament Championship. The women’s track and field team won its third consecutive Indoor Track and Field Championship and the men’s team won the Outdoor Track and Field Championship.

The men’s basketball team tied for second place in the regular season standings, and Texas State had second-place Sun Belt finishes in women’s cross country, women’s golf and women’s outdoor track and field.

The Bobcats claimed the trophy early when they clinched it before the conclusion of the baseball regular season schedule and championship tournament.

Texas State entered its Sun Belt baseball series against UT Arlington having earned 120.5 points in the Bubas Cup standings. 

The Vic Bubas Cup is named after the conference’s first commissioner. Bubas was named the conference’s commissioner on October 6, 1976.

Bubas was a two-time All-Conference selection at North Carolina State helping the Wolfpack win four Southern Conference titles, and played in the 1950 NCAA Final Four.

He graduated in 1951 and stayed on as an assistant coach at North Carolina State until 1959, at which time he was named the Head Basketball Coach at Duke University. He took the Blue Devils to the Final Four in 1963, 1964 and 1966. Duke was ranked in the top fifteen of the nation in eight of his 10 seasons as head coach. Bubas posted a career record of 213 wins and 67 losses, winning an astonishing 76.1 percent of his games. He served as a Duke administrator from 1969-1976, including the last three years as Vice President of the university.

He was named by the NCAA to the prestigious Division I Basketball Committee in 1979 for a six-year term and served as chair of the prestigious group for the 1984-85 season. Bubas served as Sun Belt Conference Commissioner for 14 years until his retirement in 1990. He led the conference during a period in which its membership increased from six to eight and the number of sports sponsored grew from four to 10.

Bubas was inducted to the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007. He passed away this past April at the age of 91.

Points for the Bubas Cup are awarded based on regular season finish for sports that have a regular season conference schedule. Points are awarded based on Sun Belt Championship finish if that sport does not have a regular season conference schedule. Points are awarded based on the number of schools sponsoring the sport. Institutions not sponsoring a sport do not receive points in that sport. Institutions tying for positions split the combined points of their positions. For sports that have both a regular season schedule and a conference tournament, one additional point will be awarded to the winner of the conference tournament. For sports with divisions, the conference records of all teams are ranked and points are awarded regardless of divisional finish.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.